1
 
   
 
   
 
Call 303.772.7448
Chat Online
Support Center
 
  Support Center
12 Dec 2018 
Support Center » Knowledgebase » How to keep (or delete) copies of your email on the server
 How to keep (or delete) copies of your email on the server
Solution If you want to keep a copy of your email on the server to access from another location you may elect to keep a copy of your email on the server.

CAUTION:
This may cause your email box to become full. Use this option wisely.

In Outlook:

Tools > Options > Select the 'Mail Setup' tab. Click 'Email Accounts'. Select 'View or change existing email accounts'.  Select the account you wish to alter and click "change". In the pop up window click on 'More Settings'. In the 'advanced' tab on the next pop up window check (or un check to stop leaving mail on the server) the 'Leave a copy of messages on the server' box under 'delivery'.

If you are checking this box for the first time, you will need to also decide how many days before the email is removed. PLEASE NOTE: email will not be 'removed' from the server at all until you have checked your email regardless of how many days you specify here. What this setting does is keeps READ email on the server for the specified amount of time to allow you to check email from multiple locations even after you have downloaded a copy to your email client.  If you have it set to keep a copy on the server for 3 days, and you check your email with your email client at work, a copy of the email will remain on the server for three days so you can check your email from another location for three days after you first download a copy.

CAUTION: This may cause your email box to become full very quickly. If your email box becomes full you will NOT be able to receive more email until you remove some email from your account ON THE SERVER.

In Eudora:

Click on the email 'persona' you wish to alter. In the pop up box select the 'incoming mail' tab and check (or uncheck) the 'leave mail on the server' tab.

If you are checking this box for the first time, you will need to also decide how many days before the email is removed. PLEASE NOTE: email will not be 'removed' from the server at all until you have checked your email regardless of how many days you specify here. What this setting does is keeps READ email on the server for the specified amount of time to allow you to check email from multiple locations even after you have downloaded a copy to your email client.  If you have it set to keep a copy on the server for 3 days, and you check your email with your email client at work, a copy of the email will remain on the server for three days so you can check your email from another location for three days after you first download a copy.

CAUTION: This may cause your email box to become full very quickly. If your email box becomes full you will NOT be able to receive more email until you remove some email from your account ON THE SERVER. 


Article Details
Article ID: 61
Created On: 08 Feb 2009 07:09 AM

 This answer was helpful  This answer was not helpful

 Back
 Login [Lost Password] 
Email:
Password:
Remember Me:
 
 Search
 Article Options
Home | Register | Submit a Ticket | Knowledgebase
Language:
   
1
© Copyright AllCitySolutions.com 2010. All Rights Reserved